“You may find yourself living in a shotgun shack, you may find yourself in another part of the world.” Well, yes David Byrne in fact; I do, thank you. For the next sixteen weeks I will be cooking a meal two nights a week. I will be telling you all about it here. First, let me explain exactly what I mean when I say, “Cooking In a Shotgun Shack”.  I currently live in rural Maine in a sixteen by sixteen, two-story house that is still under construction. My two roommates, and my neighboring shotgun shack dweller do not have running water, electricity, or plumbing, just a wonderful little wood stove. We like to refer to our 1960’s Jotul Tiki stove as, “The Tiki Man”, who uncannily resembles an Easter Island statue. Great stove, heats well. Often times we like to think it has a mind of its own: eating cell phones, tinfoil wrapped  rutabagas that go missing after being thrown in to cook. That’s a story for another time! So, what I am meaning to tell y’all is that, trying to cook dinner every night with a wood stove (that only has space for one pot at a time), a handful of utensils, and two cast iron pans can be undoubtedly an adventure every time. Please, join me as I struggle through cooking with the Tiki man.

Lauren

