March 21st, was my niece’s fifth birthday. So, I decided against the traditional ‘birthday cake’ and went with cupcakes. I cannot explain exactly why, but red velvet was the first thing that came to mind when I started brainstorming what to bake for her birthday. Baking is something I don’t do very often so  I really wanted to have fun with it and take advantage of my mothers kitchens while I was home visiting family. Plus, red velvet is a very moist cake mix and appealing to the eye especially with sprinkled frosting!

Ingredients

(Purchased at Brigido’s Marketplace)

Red Velvet Cake Mix

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • Confectioners Sugar 1 box
  • Cream cheese 1 (8oz) package
  • Vanilla extract
  • Butter 1/2 cup

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Break out the cake mix, add the ingredients and get stirring! The box tells you to stir the mix for only 2-3 minutes so naturally I took my own approach and brought out the old electric cake mix. I mixed the batter for about 10 minutes to make sure all clumps were out so the cupcakes would be light and fluffy.

2. Place the cupcake wrappers in the pan and carefully pour cake mix into each wrapper 3/4 of the way full. Let bake for 20-22 minutes.

3. While cupcakes are baking start in on the frosting. Start with softened butter, cream cheese, and vanilla extract stir till smooth. Once smooth, slowly add in the whole box of confectioners sugar a little at  a time. Then, place in the fridge to solidify.

4. Then, remove cupcakes from the oven. MAKE SURE to let them cool!

5. After, all cupcakes have cooled begin frosting and decorating to your enjoyment.

Pictures

001

Comments

For not being a baker the cupcakes came out good, light, fluffy, and moist like I intended.  The only gripe I have, was with the cream cheese frosting. The recipe I used came from the back of the Domino’s box of confectioners sugar. The recipe only called for 3 oz of cream cheese and a WHOLE box of powered sugar! That’s just crazy, a whole box? Really? So, I made the frosting according to recipe and it came out as expected; way to sugary. So, sweet in fact I could feel cavities forming as I taste tested it. To drown out the overwhelming taste of sugar I added the other 5 oz of cream cheese. It did help the taste, but the frosting was still sweeter than I imagined a cream cheese frosting to be. So, next time I decide to get crazy and bake I will make sure to choose a different recipe for cream cheese frosting.

