Panera Bread, the restaurant, has inspired this recipe for tonight’s dinner and if you have not gone to Panera Bread and tried their broccoli cheddar soup I highly suggest it! Instead of keeping this dish true to the recipe, I have decided to add bacon! This will be my first time making a soup from scratch. To start the base of the creamy broth I will attempt to make a roux. A roux is used for many different things like making gravy and sauces. Basically, it is a mixture of flour and fat, like butter or oil. So, here it goes!

Ingredients  

(Purchased from Edwards Shop N’ Save)

Butter- $(Didn’t purchase butter, used grease from the bacon instead)

Flour- $ ( Already had Flour)

2 Cups of Half and Half cream $1.59

2 Cups Chicken Stock $2.89

1 Onion- $2.49/lb.

1/2 lb. Broccoli- $2.99

1 cup of Carrot Shredded- $1.29

1 lb. Bacon- $3.49

1/4 Teaspoon of Nutmeg- $ (Didn’t not or purchase, just let out. Spices are too expensive)

8 ounces Sharp Cheddar Cheese- $2.89

Salt and Pepper- $(Already have at the house)

Total- $17.63

Directions 

1. Saute onions and bacon in skillet until cooked.

2. Remove from heat and let cool. Place pot on stove make roux by heating bacon fat, add flour and whisk for 3-5 minutes over medium heat.  Then, add half and half  and continually stir.

3. Add chicken stock and turn heat to low and let sit for 20 minutes.

3. Add Bacon, Broccoli, Onion, carrot, and cook at low to medium heat for another 20 minutes.

4. Lastly, stir in cheese, pepper, and wella!

Pictures

040 044

Comments

When making the broth, I can’t lie, I was scared. I did what the directions said, but it started to get chunky! I thought I had already failed at making my first soup. My roommate reassured me that I was doing just fine, “Keep following the directions, keep steering, and turn the heat up a little,” he said. So, I trusted him and listed. Finally, the moment came to add the chicken broth- the recipe called for two cups- instead I added four. After the twenty minutes of impatiently waiting for the broth to cook; I opened the lid, steered it around, and it wasn’t chunky anymore! Phew! Next, I added in chopped broccoli, shredded carrots, sautéed onions, and cooked bacon chunks. Lastly, added the cheese and pepper then served it …let me tell you! Wow! Was it good, I don’t know if it was the bacon fat or the Cabot Sharp Cheddar Cheese, but it was delicious!

