I’m not sure what made me want to recreate Alfredo sauce, homemade even, but I did.  Overall, this dish came out well, it was very tasty, but not what I was expecting. This time I did not follow any recipe, I simply went to the grocery store, brainstormed the idea, read the back of a can of Alfredo, and bought the ingredients. Having no idea how to cook something from scratch was an interesting feeling of slight panic.

Ingredients

(Purchased from Edward’s Shop N’ Save)

Flour- (Already had at the house)

Butter- $2.49 (1 lb.)

Half and Half cream- $1.59

Sherry Cooking Wine- $3.69

8 ounces Cabot Sharp Cheddar Cheese- $2.89

8 ounces of Italian blend Cheese- $2.89

Egg noodles $3.89

Boneless Chicken Thighs- $ 5.00

Total- $22.17

Directions

1. Start Roux in skillet; melt butter at medium/low heat then add flour and whisk until thick.

2. Add half and half and sherry wine. Let cook for about 10-15 minutes on low heat, uncovered.

3. Bring water to a boil for egg noodles. After sauce has cooked add cheese. Let the cheese melt, but not burn over low heat!

4. Add egg noodles to boiling water. Let boil for only about 5 minutes. Drain and add Alfredo sauce. Mix, cover, and set aside.

5. Fry boneless chicken thighs over medium heat until done.

6. Once chicken is fully cooked, cut chunks into bite-size pieces and add to pasta and sauce.

7. Serve and enjoy!

Pictures

052 056 061

Comments

I love cooking with wine! I discovered that I actually preformed a reduction when cooking this Alfredo sauce. A reduction with alcohol is when you add alcohol like beer or wine, in this case sherry wine, to a sauce and let the sauce boil. Then, the alcohol cooks off the dish leaving just the flavor. Everything came out delicious, the chicken, sauce, noodles, and I even added a fresh salad, but I got a little over zealous and added way too much cheese. So much cheese in fact my Alfredo sauce turned into Alfredo mac and cheese! So, next time I attempt to make homemade Alfredo sauce I’ll remember to not add so much cheese despite my intense love for it.

